Skip to main content
India's independent education guide: 143 UGC DEB verified universities · NIRF ranked

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA): Validity, Fees and Programmes

A Doctor of Business Administration, also called a Doctorate in Business Administration, is a professional doctorate in management for working professionals. This page sets out whether it counts in India, then compares the six online DBAs we track on fees, eligibility, credits, refund and deferral terms.

Is an online DBA valid in India? Not automatically.

  • It is not a PhD, and it cannot be used anywhere a UGC-recognised PhD is required.
  • It is usable in India only if UGC grants an equivalence certificate under the UGC (Recognition and Grant of Equivalence to Qualifications Obtained from Foreign Educational Institutions) Regulations, 2025, notified 4 April 2025. Programmes from unrecognised institutions, unaccredited programmes, or franchise arrangements are not eligible.
  • On 28 October 2022, UGC and AICTE publicly warned that online doctoral programmes offered by edtech companies with foreign institutions are not recognised.
  • Outside India, a DBA from a university accredited in its home country is recognised there as a professional doctorate.

DBA full form

DBA stands for Doctor of Business Administration, sometimes written Doctor or Doctorate of Business Administration. It is a professional doctorate: a research degree built around management practice.

The same three letters mean two other things. Diploma in Business Administration is a 1-year course after 10+2, a completely different qualification. If that is the course you meant, talk to our counsellor. Outside education, DBA also means database administrator, an IT job role.

What a DBA is, and who it suits

A DBA asks you to study a management problem in depth and write it up as a dissertation. The six online DBAs on this page all run for 3 years with live sessions, recordings and a 75% attendance requirement, so they are built to sit alongside a job.

Who a DBA suits

Who should skip it

Executive DBA and executive doctorate

Executive DBA and executive doctorate are names providers give to a DBA aimed at experienced professionals. The name does not change the validity position above. SSBM calls its programme an Executive DBA, and its eligibility reads: Bachelor's degree with 5 years of experience, or a master's degree.

DBA after MBA

An MBA is a master's degree. SSBM, ESGCI, EIMT, Birchwood University name a master's degree in their eligibility. Golden Gate University and Rushford Business School set their routes at bachelor's level or a 2-year PGDM: Bachelor's with 55% marks, or 5+ years of experience, or 2-year PGDM. Some routes also ask for work experience, so read each programme's exact wording in the finder below.

DBA course details

Duration3 years for all six programmes
CreditsGolden Gate University: 56 (12 foundation + 12 concentration + 32 dissertation); Rushford Business School: 180 ECTS; ESGCI: 180 ECTS; EIMT: 180 ECTS; Birchwood University: 60 ECTS
Live sessionsYes, with recordings, in all six
Attendance75% required
Campus immersionAvailable in all six
DissertationGolden Gate University counts 32 dissertation credits of its 56. Talk to our counsellor for how the others assess it.
DegreeSoft copy and physical degree
DeferralDeferral allowed. If the batch has already started, a 5% additional programme fee is charged and the learner moves to the next batch.

All six online DBA programmes compared

ProgrammeDurationFeeBooking amountCreditsSpecialisationsRefund
Golden Gate University DBA3 years₹10,65,000 without immersion, ₹12,15,000 with immersion₹44,99956 (12 foundation + 12 concentration + 32 dissertation)Not statedRefund before cohort start
Rushford Business School DBA3 yearsTalk to our counsellor for the current feeTalk to our counsellor180 ECTS9Refund before cohort start
SSBM Executive DBA3 yearsTalk to our counsellor for the current feeTalk to our counsellorTalk to our counsellor19Refund before programme start
ESGCI DBA3 years₹6,50,000 without immersion, ₹8,14,000 with immersion₹25,000180 ECTSNot statedRefund before cohort start
EIMT DBA3 years₹6,50,000 (single fee)₹25,000180 ECTSNot statedUSD 300 application fee non-refundable; refunds per provider schedule
Birchwood University DBA3 years₹6,00,000 (single fee)₹25,00060 ECTSNot statedNo refund policy

Fees are indicative, taken from provider information collected in November 2026, and change by batch. Talk to our counsellor for the current fee and any available scholarship.

See every fee side by side, including what immersion adds, on the DBA course fees page.

DBA Finder: shortlist by budget and terms

Pick a budget and the terms that matter to you. Eligibility is not filtered, because each provider words it differently. Read it on each card.

6 of 6 programmes match

Birchwood University DBA₹6,00,000 (single fee, no immersion split)
Eligibility:
Master's degree, or bachelor's degree with experience
Refund:
No refund policy
Credits:
60 ECTS
ESGCI DBA₹6,50,000 (lowest, without immersion)
Eligibility:
Master's degree, or bachelor's with 3+ years of experience; diploma considered with 8+ years of experience
Refund:
Refund available any time before the cohort commencement date
Credits:
180 ECTS
EIMT DBA₹6,50,000 (single fee, no immersion split)
Eligibility:
Master's degree with relevant experience
Refund:
One-time non-refundable application fee of USD 300; cancellation only in writing; refunds per the provider's refund schedule
Credits:
180 ECTS
Golden Gate University DBA₹10,65,000 (lowest, without immersion)
Eligibility:
Bachelor's with 55% marks, or 5+ years of experience, or 2-year PGDM
Refund:
Refund available any time before the cohort commencement date
Credits:
56 (12 foundation + 12 concentration + 32 dissertation)
Rushford Business School DBAFee not yet confirmed. Talk to our counsellor for the current fee.
Eligibility:
Bachelor's with 55% marks, or 5+ years of experience, or 2-year PGDM
Refund:
Refund available any time before the cohort commencement date
Specialisations:
9
Credits:
180 ECTS
SSBM Executive DBAFee not yet confirmed. Talk to our counsellor for the current fee.
Eligibility:
Bachelor's degree with 5 years of experience, or a master's degree
Refund:
Refund available any time before the programme start date
Specialisations:
19

DBA vs PhD at a glance

DBA (online, foreign)PhD (India)
Valid in IndiaOnly with a UGC equivalence certificateYes, under the UGC PhD Regulations, 2022
Duration3 years (all six listed)At least 3 years including coursework, at most 6
Online modeYesNot permitted online or by distance
Teaching in IndiaCannot replace a required PhDMeets any requirement for a UGC-recognised PhD
Research focusApplied, on a management problemOriginal research for an academic field

Read the full comparison on DBA vs PhD in India.

Frequently asked questions

What is the full form of DBA?

DBA stands for Doctor of Business Administration, also written Doctorate in Business Administration. It is a professional doctorate in management. The same letters also stand for Diploma in Business Administration, a 1-year course after 10+2, and, outside education, for database administrator.

Is an online DBA valid in India?

Not automatically. It is usable in India only if UGC grants an equivalence certificate under the UGC (Recognition and Grant of Equivalence to Qualifications Obtained from Foreign Educational Institutions) Regulations, 2025, notified 4 April 2025. Programmes from unrecognised institutions, unaccredited programmes, or franchise arrangements are not eligible. On 28 October 2022, UGC and AICTE publicly warned that online doctoral programmes offered by edtech companies with foreign institutions are not recognised.

What is the difference between a DBA and a PhD?

A DBA is not a PhD, and it cannot be used anywhere a UGC-recognised PhD is required. A PhD in India runs at least three years including coursework and at most six years under the UGC PhD Regulations, 2022. All six online DBAs we list run for 3 years.

Can I become a professor with a DBA?

Not on the strength of a DBA alone in India. A DBA cannot be used anywhere a UGC-recognised PhD is required, so a faculty post that asks for a PhD will not accept it in its place. If teaching at an Indian university is the goal, a PhD is the route.

What are DBA course fees in India?

Across the online DBAs with confirmed fees, total fees run from ₹6,00,000 (Birchwood University) to ₹12,15,000 (Golden Gate University). We have not confirmed fees for Rushford Business School and SSBM. Fees are indicative and change by batch. Talk to our counsellor for the current fee and any available scholarship.

What is the eligibility for a DBA?

It depends on the programme. Golden Gate University asks for: Bachelor's with 55% marks, or 5+ years of experience, or 2-year PGDM. SSBM asks for: Bachelor's degree with 5 years of experience, or a master's degree. The full criteria for all six are in the finder on this page.

How long is a DBA course?

All six online DBAs we list run for 3 years.

What is campus immersion in a DBA?

A campus immersion is an on-campus component offered alongside the online programme. All six programmes we list offer one. Where a provider prices it separately, it adds ₹1,50,000 (Golden Gate University) and ₹1,64,000 (ESGCI) to the fee.

Programme pages

Free, no commission

Free DBA Shortlist and Validity Check

  • Eligibility check against each programme's criteria
  • Current fee, with and without immersion
  • The franchise or partner route question, answered for your shortlist
  • Refund and deferral terms explained before you pay any booking amount
+91

No spam. edifyedu.in earns zero commission.